Review: The Last Horror Movie (2003, dir. Julian Richards)

After watching this movie, I felt the urge to wash my mouth out. It left such a bad taste. Essentially because it was in such bad taste, and not even in a slightly entertaining way. I love found footage, I truly do. I consider it my true love when it comes to movies, but this was just awful.

            It follows Max (Kevin Howarth), your friendly neighborhood serial killer, who decides to document his crimes with the help of his assistant (Mark Stevenson). God, is it just dreadful. The scenes of the killings aren’t bad. They’re nothing special, and they come off as chaotic and exceedingly random the more they occur, which is a lot.

Image

Kevin Howarth

         What’s really just god awful about the movie are the scenes of Max talking to the camera. I understand that the movie’s supposed to make you think. It’s supposed ot make you question your morals and why we keep making movies about people killing each other, and if we all have the ability to kill inside us. But there is no subtlety to this movie. Max waves his cigarette around and declares himself to be truer to himself than anyone else around him is, and that someday the world will understand why he does the things he does- because he wants to. It’s painful to watch the smirking Howarth swan on and on about his deeds.

            It’s just not good. Maybe I’m being too harsh about this, and maybe I’m missing the point of the movie entirely, but frankly, I thought it was just a self righteous “arty” movie about a dickhead serial killer and his need to justify each murder.

 

2/10

Leave a comment